ECP notifies newly elected Senators


ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday issued a notification of successful candidates of Senate by-elections held on March 14, ARY News reported

According to the notification, Pakistan People s Party s (PPP) Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani has been notified as Senator on a general seat from Islamabad.

On two vacant Senate seats from Sindh, PPP s Jam Saifullah Dharejo and Muhammad Aslam Abro have been notified as elected.

Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo of PPP, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl s (JUI-F) Abdul Shakoor Khan Ghaibai and Mir Dostain Khan of Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) have been notified as Senators from Balochistan.

Read More: PPP wins four out of six seats in Senate by-elections

Earlier on March 14, PPP won four out of six Senate seats in by-elections.

In the National Assembly, PPP s candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani was declared the winner with 204 votes, while Sunni Ittehad Council s candidate Chaudhary Ilyas Mehrban remained runner-up with 88 votes.

In Sindh Assembly, PPP s candidates Jam Saifullah Dharejo and Aslam Abro were declared winners with 58 and 57 votes, respectively. SIC s Nazirullah and Shazia Sohail secured 4 votes each. 124 MPAs including 116 of PPP and 8 of SIC took part in the polling.

In Balochistan, PPP s Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo was declared the winner with 23 votes, while JUI-F s Abdul Shakoor Khan Ghaibai and PML-N s Mir Dostain were also declared the winners on the Senate s vacant seats.

You May Also Like

Recommended for you

Our Newsletters

Get our best recipes and tips in your inbox. Sign up now!



Body & fitness

Recent Posts