Elections 2024: IPP wins NA-88, PTI-backed candidate bags PK-90 after re-polling


ISLAMABAD: Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) clinched victory from NA-88 Khushab after re-polling in 26 polling stations of the constituency on Thursday, ARY News reported.

As per unofficial results, IPP s Gul Asghar emerged victorious after the results of all 331 polling stations were compiled. The IPP candidate bagged 87205 votes while independent candidate Moazzam Sher received 70186 votes.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) backed Akram Niazi finished at the third spot with 58301 votes.

The Election Commission of Pakistan ordered re-polling in 26 polling stations after a violent mob burned the ballot papers on polling day.

“The ECP has ordered a re-poll on February 15 in the 26 polling stations of Khushab-2 after a violent mob burned the ballot papers. The result of the constituency will be announced after counting on February 15,” the ECP spokesman said earlier.

Meanwhile, PTI-backed independent candidate Aftab Alam emerged victorious from PK-90 Kohat after re-polling in some polling stations. The PTI-backed candidate secured 45917 votes while Pakistan People s Party s (PPP) Amjad Afridi got 34364 votes.

Read More: Elections 2024: Independent candidate clinches PS-18 after re-polling

Earlier, independent candidate Jam Mehtab Hussain Dahar emerged victorious after re-polling at two polling stations of PS-18 Ghotki, defeating PPP s aspirant.

As per unofficial results, Jam Mehtab Hussain Dahar secured 1592 votes from the two polling stations while PPP s Shahryar Khan Shar bagged 973 votes.

You May Also Like

Recommended for you

Our Newsletters

Get our best recipes and tips in your inbox. Sign up now!



Body & fitness

Recent Posts