NA elects Sardar Ayaz Sadiq as new speaker


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Sardar Ayaz Sadiq has been elected as the 22nd speaker of the National Assembly (NA).

The National Assembly (NA) session is being chaired by Raja Pervaiz Ashraf. Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) protested during the session.

The voting for the election of the speaker was held through a secret ballot. The lawmakers one by one cast their vote.

PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq gained 199 votes, while Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) Aamir Dogar 91 votes.

After the oath-taking, the new speaker will then take charge of the house forthwith. Ashraf will, subsequently, step down from his position.

The new speaker will conduct the election of the deputy speaker immediately after taking charge.

Read more: Newly elected MNAs take oath in NA s inaugural session

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), President, Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif has nominated Sardar Ayaz Sadiq for the position of Speaker of the National Assembly on behalf of PML-N, and Bilawal Bhutto has nominated Ghulam Mustafa Shah as the candidate for Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly on behalf of Pakistan People s Party (PPP).

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Aamir Dogar for the position of Speaker of the National Assembly, while PTI s Junaid Khan will contest for the post of Deputy Speaker.

You May Also Like

Recommended for you

Our Newsletters

Get our best recipes and tips in your inbox. Sign up now!



Body & fitness

Recent Posts