PTI boycotts Sindh Assembly’s Speaker election


KARACHI: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Sunday announced to boycott the election of speaker and deputy speaker of Sindh Assembly, ARY News reported.

As per details, the PTI-backed independent candidates jointly announced that they will neither support MQM-P candidate nor PPP nominated candidate for the speaker and the deputy speaker of Sindh Assembly.

Sunni Ittehad Council s (SIC) PTI-supported nine members and a Jamaat-e-Islami member took oath in Sindh Assembly earlier today (Sunday).

Murad Ali Shah welcomed the members who took oath today and said, “We hope we all will play a role in betterment of the province”.

Read more: PTI-supported nine members take oath in Sindh Assembly

People s Party s candidate for Speaker s office, Ovais Qadir Shah also held a meeting with the PTI s independent members and welcomed them in the house. “Hopefully you will sit in a better environment in the house,” he added.

Sindh Assembly has been in session to elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House today.

The People s Party has nominated Ovais Qadir Shah as its candidate for Speaker and Naveed Anthony as Deputy Speaker for Sindh Assembly.

The MQM-Pakistan has nominated Advocate Sofia Shah and Advocate Rashid Khan as the party s candidates for speaker and deputy speaker s offices of the provincial assembly respectively.

The members will elect the speaker and deputy speaker with a secret ballot.

The election for Sindh s chief minister will be held tomorrow. Murad Ali Shah has been People s Party s candidate for the CM office.

Sindh Assembly Secretariat has announced that the candidates for chief minister could submit their nomination papers from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm today.

The scrutiny of candidates will be completed by 6:00 pm and final list of the candidates will be displayed at 7:00 pm this evening.

You May Also Like

Recommended for you

Our Newsletters

Get our best recipes and tips in your inbox. Sign up now!



Body & fitness

Recent Posts